Grant Round Information

Total Grant Round
Minimum Request
$100K (Standard Grants)
Maximum Request
$1M (Standard Grants)
Average Grant Award
$710K (Standard Grants)
Match Requirement
50% (non-federal; cash or in-kind contributions)
RFP Release
April (annual)
Pre-application Due
February (annual)
Final Application Due
July (annual)
Beaver Pond

USFWS North American Wetlands Conservation Act (NAWCA)

North American Wetlands Conservation Act (NAWCA) grants increase bird populations and wetland habitat, while supporting local economies and American traditions such as hunting, fishing, bird watching, family farming, and cattle ranching. Wetlands protected by NAWCA provide valuable benefits such as flood control, reducing coastal erosion, improving water and air quality, and recharging ground water.

The NAWCA program provides matching grants to wetlands conservation projects in the United States, Canada, and Mexico. There is a Standard and a Small Grants Program. Both are competitive grants programs and require that grant requests be matched by partner contributions at no less than a 1-to-1 ratio.

Who Can Apply?
Cities, Conservation Districts, Counties, Educational Institutions, Federal Agencies, Native American Tribes, Nonprofit Organizations, Private Corporations, Private Land Owners, Regional Fisheries Enhancement Groups, Small Forest Landowners, State Agencies
Project Types
Acquisition, Restoration, Conservation
Restoration Types
Habitat (General), Wetlands
Geography/Land Ownership
Available to private or public organizations or to individuals who have developed partnerships to carry out wetlands conservation projects in the U.S., Canada, and Mexico.